Grants and Scholarships

Northern Scientific Training Program (NSTP) grants

The annual Northern Scientific Training Program (NSTP) grants sponsored by Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Council through the Canadian Polar Commission (CPC). CPC provides a block fund to the UofA based on individual submissions coordinated by the UofA Northern Awards Committee. The NSTP Program has provided an additional $2.3 M in seed research grants to about 850 graduate and senior undergraduates students at the University of Alberta since the launch of the program in 1962.

UofA Northern Awards

The UofA Northern Awards is sponsored by the Office of the Provost, University of Alberta. These awards are open to graduate and senior undergraduate students of the University of Alberta.  They provide funds in support of research in any subject area.

The geographic area of focus is the circumpolar north (any area of the world north of the southern limit of the boreal forest). The priority is for costs related to field research expenses, but other expenses are considered. NOTE: These grants will NOT support the acquisition of equipment, or a salary for the applicant.

For more information on how to apply for both these funding programs, please go to: Apply for Funding

UofA Northern Awards Committee

The UofA Northern Awards Committee is appointed each year to evaluate applications to the program. The committee comprises three academic staff members of the UofA, appointed to represent broad disciplinary areas (life/biological Sciences; earth sciences/engineering; social sciences/humanities/fine arts/medical sciences) for a three-year term (staggered), and serving as Chair in the third year appointment.

Definition of North

For the purposes of the grants program, the term `North` is understood to include that part of Canada which lies north of the southern limit of the discontinuous permafrost zone in Canada (arctic and subarctic).  For the CBAR envelope, the ‘North’ also includes the Boreal Forest or ‘Northern Transition Zone,’ and the Northern Alberta Development Council Area of Alberta.  The ‘Circumpolar North” refers to the eight countries of the Arctic Council (Canada, Finland, Greenland [Denmark], Iceland, Norway, Russia, Sweden, and the United States [Alaska]).

Map Southern Limit of Discontinuous Permafrost Zone

Map-Northern Alberta Development Council Area of Alberta

For more information:

Anita Dey Nuttall